Home > Book Review, Spirituality > Counterfeit Gods by Timothy Keller

Counterfeit Gods by Timothy Keller

Counterfeit Gods: The Empty Promises of Money, Sex and Power, and the Only Hope that Matters by Timothy Keller

Rating: CS Lewis Amazing

Lesson Learned: You gotta identify and deal with your idols

First the book: Keller’s Counterfeit Gods will be one of those books in my library. It will be a book to place on a shelf within arms reach so that I can open it up when I’m dealing with falling more in love with this world than I am with Jesus and his plan for my life. He goes through the idols of money, sex and power and how those very obvious categories turn into idols in people’s lives. I love the idea that you know what an idol is when you are disenchanted by something you lifted up more than God. If a relationship brings you despair then did you love that person more than you loved God, and it isn’t that you love that person left it is that you love God more and you take away the things you expect from that person only God can provide. That’s what an idol does, it allows us to think we can fill a part of our life with something on earth that only God can fill.

Now Keller: I am surprised the book was easy enough for me to read. I expected something really difficult and heady, but what I found was something on the level of C S Lewis- no exaggeration. Having the great fortune to attend Keller’s church Redeemer as a student at NYU I can say without a doubt I am proud to have Keller on Team Jesus.

Categories: Book Review, Spirituality
  1. koobxwm
    June 22, 2010 at 10:25 am

    Ben, I’m looking forward to getting this book. I heard your mom talking about it the other day. I’m pretty certain that I’ve listened to virtually every Tim Keller sermon posted online. When I read Reason for God, I could almost hear his voice as I was reading the words! =)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

