Home > Book Review, Literature > Push by Sapphire

Push by Sapphire

Book: Push by Sapphire

Rating: Okay

Lesson Learned: Find something to live for.

I am not big into reading novels, especially ones which are turned into movies, but I thought I would give Push a try. (I haven’t seen the movie). Push follows Precious through the struggles of incest, teenage pregnancy, and hopelessness in Harlem. The book is written from the perspective of Precious and it makes the book ‘harsh’ and ‘raw’. I don’t know what I think, it is a cornucopia of misery with some redemption at the end. Some people will get uppity by the language, others by the content, but at the end of the day it was hard to not feel for someone who had survived through so much fiction or not.

Also the author’s name is Sapphire, no last name, so I bet she is pretty fun.

I don’t know what to think about the book, so there it is.

Categories: Book Review, Literature
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

