Home > Book Review, Marketing > Branding Only Works on Cattle: The New Way to Get Known (and drive your competitors crazy) by Jonathan Salem Baskin

Branding Only Works on Cattle: The New Way to Get Known (and drive your competitors crazy) by Jonathan Salem Baskin

Book: Branding Only Works on Cattle: The New Way to Get Known (and drive your competitors crazy) by Jonathan Salem Baskin

Rating: Meh

Lesson Learned: think different

He was just writing to the extreme so that people would think differently. Is branding by any other name not branding?

Categories: Book Review, Marketing
  1. December 6, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    Benjamin, thanks for taking the time to read my book and write a review (albeit a short one). What did you find weakest in my argument for a new definition of brands? I went to great lengths in my book to spell out the problem with the traditional approach, and then outline specific, new ways to deliver branding…from operational controls to video game narratives.

    My punchline is that there’s no such thing as branding, really, just the hopes and aspirations of marketers who aren’t willing to truly understand what matters and motivates consumers. Marketing works but branding is a myth, in my book, and from the reaction from the folks who practice the vague science for a living, I think it’s a big idea.

    And all my writing warranted a “meh?” I am so disappointed!

    JSB

  2. Benjamin
    December 6, 2009 at 5:06 pm

    Johnathan,

    I appreciate responding to the review of your book. I am always humbled when I realize that the authors of my book read the reviews I write. Maybe I didn’t give it enough of a chance, because the second paragraph of your responce is compelling. I’ll make sure to read the book again to pick up anything I missed and share my thoughts.

    BPR

  1. December 9, 2009 at 5:59 am

Leave a Reply

