Home > Book Review, Spirituality > Muslims, Christians, and Jesus: Gaining Understanding and Building Relationships by Carl Medearis

Muslims, Christians, and Jesus: Gaining Understanding and Building Relationships by Carl Medearis

Book: Muslims, Christians, and Jesus: Gaining Understanding and Building Relationships by Carl Medearis

Rating: Amazing

Lesson Learned: Sensitivity

Carl provides a great introduction to Islam and the Middle East. He draws on his experience to explain how to create a faith dialogue with a Muslim. It is an excellent book.

I have been blessed to travel around the world. I understand the Middle East isn’t perfect the and the West isn’t either. What I wrestle with is not having a heart for Arabs it is for love for my far right countrymen. Fox News makes me cringe. It frustrates me that “compassion conservatives” have co-opted Christianity for political gain, as if Jesus was just on one side of the aisle. I know God loves everyone, and I should reflect this, but I have a hard time with it in this situation. Carl encountered a neighbor who didn’t quite understand all the work Carl was doing with Muslims and the Middle East and after reflecting Carl’s response was, “Then again, I had spent half my life in the middle of it all; he had not.”

What the book taught me is everyone has different experiences. For some people who come to conclusions without experiencing certain things it is the job of the experienced to share wisdom not to belittle. You would think this is a lesson you would learn in kindergarten, but nothing about present politcal debates reflect this truth.

Categories: Book Review, Spirituality
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

