Home > Book Review, Creativity > Outliers: The Story of Success by Malcom Gladwell

Outliers: The Story of Success by Malcom Gladwell

Book: Outliers: The Story of Success by Malcom Gladwell

Rating: GREAT

Lesson Learned: Focus your efforts

This is an incredible and interesting read. Gladwell examines how not only hard work and time are what makes people successful but also luck of the draw. Bill Gates worked at the only school that had a computer in the state, and Warren Buffet began investing at the perfect time during the market. If I taught high school I would make my students read this.

Categories: Book Review, Creativity
  1. June 27, 2009 at 8:19 am

    So Ben, which do you think is the more determining factor – the uniqueness of the person, or the discipline of the person?

  2. Benjamin
    June 27, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    I think the uniqueness of the person is what puts them in situations where they can take advantage of their discipline. It is crazy to not count the fact that I was born in the states, born to parents that stayed together, and the million other things that I have going for me that I had no control over don’t make a significant impact on my success.

  3. June 29, 2009 at 10:31 am

    I saw Malcolm speak last year at a conference I was at where he had either just released “Outliers” or it was about to release. His talk was based on the premises of the book and he was absolutely engaging and enjoyable. He is a great communicator and this book has been on my “to read” list since then.

  1. August 18, 2010 at 10:21 pm

Leave a Reply

